• IDS 2020

    Beijing China, October 15-18

  • IDS 2020

    Beijing China, October 15-18

  • IDS 2020

    Beijing China, October 15-18

  • IDS 2020

    Beijing China, October 15-18

  • IDS 2020

    Beijing China, October 15-18

  • IDS 2020

    Beijing China, October 15-18

Program

17th IDS Congress Preliminary Agenda 

Day 1 (Oct 15, 2020)

19:00-19:10

(Beijing time)

Opening Ceremony: Anette Ziegler (Germany, 13:00) & Zhiguang Zhou (China) 

19:10-19:35

Franco Bottazzo Lecture (25’)

Ake Lernmark (Sweden, 13:10

Chair

Ezio Bonifacio (Germany, 13:10)

19:35-20:50

Session 1 Epigenetics and Transcriptomics of T1D (75 min)

Key Note Lecture: David Leslie (UK, 12:35) 15’ 

Epigenetics of T1D: Epiphany or Epiphenomenon?

Chairs:Carani Sanjeevi (Sweden, 13:35) & Linda Yip (USA, 4:35am)

Speakers:(15’ each)

Ranjeny Thomas (Queensland, Australia, 21:35): Identification and therapeutic regulation of autoantigen-specific responses in pediatric type 1 diabetes)

Cong-Yi Wang (China): The implication of epigenetic factors in the initiation and progression of type 1 diabetes

Riitta Lahesmaa (Finland, 14:35): Early detection of immune cell signatures in children developing beta-cell autoimmunity

Questions: 15min

20:50-21:00

BREAK 10 min

21:00-22:30

Session 2 Genetic Risk and Heterogeneity of T1D (90min)

Key Note Lecture: Steve Rich (USA, 9:00 am) 25’ 

Advances in the Genetic Basis of Type 1 Diabetes and Application to Population Screening

Chairs:A G Ziegler (Germany, 15:00) & William Hagopian (USA, 6:00am)

Speakers:(15’ each)

Tao Yang (China) Characteristics and heterogeneity of genetics, autoimmune and islet function for adult-onset type 1 diabetes

Andrea Steck (USA, 7:00am): Heterogeneity and Prediction of T1D

William Hagopian (USA, 6:00am): Applying Combined Risk Scores using Genetics, Family History and Islet Autoantibodies in Pediatric Population Screening and Selection for Prevention Trials

Questions: 20min

CLOSE OF SESSION 22:30  Total 3 hours 30min 

Day 2 (Oct 16, 2020)

19:00-20:30

(Beijing time)

Session 3 Beta cell in Health and Disease (90 min)

Key Note Lecture: Tao Xu (China) 25’:From Beta Cell Function to Precision Treatment in Diabetes

Chairs:Linong Ji (China) & Simi Ahmed (USA, 7:00am)

Speakers (15’each)

Helen Thomas (Australia, 21:00): The influence of cytokines and JAK inhibitors on expansion of antigen-specific T cells

Stephan Speier (Germany, 13:00): In Situ Analysis of Human Islet Pathophysiology in T1D

Teresa Mastracci (USA, 7:00am):Targeting polyamine biosynthesis to stimulate beta cell regeneration in zebrafish

Questions: 20min

20:30-20:40

BREAK 10 min

20:40-21:25

Session 4 Gut Microbiota in T1D (45 min)

Chairs:Li Wen (USA, 8:40am) & James Pearson (UK, 13:40)

Discussant:Emma Hamilton-Williams (Australia, 22:40)

Speakers (15’ each)

Michael Knip (Finland, 15:40): Can the T1D Risk Be Modulated Through the Intestinal Microbiome?

Yu Liu (China): Fecal Microbiota Transplantation in Type 1 Diabetes

Questions: 15 min

21:25-22:30

Session 5 Adult-Onset Autoimmune Diabetes (65min)

Chairs:David Leslie (UK, 14:25) & Zhiguang Zhou (China)

Discussants:Toshiaki Hanafusa (Japan, 22:25) & Paolo Pozzilli (Italy, 15:25)

Speakers (15’ each)

Paolo Pozzilli (Italy, 15:25): Adult-Onset Autoimmune Diabetes

Xia Li (China):LADA know and unknow

Tiina Tuomi (Finland, 16:25): LATENT AUTOIMMUNE DIABETES IN ADULTS

Questions: 20min

CLOSE OF SESSION 22:15  Total 3 hours 30 min

Day 3 (Oct 17, 2020)

19:00-20:00

(Beijing time)

Session 6 Islet Transplantation & Stem Cell Therapy (60 min)

Chairs: Tom Kay (Australia, 21:00) & Susan Wong (UK, 12:00)

Discussant: Philip O’Connell (Australia, 21:00)

Speakers (15’ each)

Akihisa Imagawa (Japan, 20:00): Usefulness of patient-derived iPS cells in fulminant type 1 diabetes

Hongkui Deng (China)

Qizhi Tang (USA, 4:00am): Islet-infiltrating Tregs in autoimmune diabetes and islet transplantation

Questions: 15 min

20:00-20:25

George Eisenbarth Lecture (25’)

Kevan Herold (USA, 8:00am): Prevention, Delay, and Treatment of autoimmine diabetes

Chairs

AG Ziegler (Germany, 14:00) & Marian Rewers (USA, 6:00am)

20:25-20:35 

BREAK 10 min  

20:35-21:55

Session 7 Immune Cells in T1D (80 min)

Chairs: Mark Peakman (UK, 13:35) & Yufei Xiang (USA, 5:35am

Speakers (15’ each)

Roberto Mallone (France, 14:35): βeauty is in the eye of the T-cell beholder

Peggy Kendall (USA, 7:35am): Targeting anti-insulin B cells in T1D

Aimin Xu (China): Neutrophil-macrophage crosstalk in autoimmune diabetes

Questions: 35 min

21:55-22:40

Session 8 Immune Therapy (45 min)

Chairs: Jay Skyler (USA, 9:10am) & Chantal Mathieu (Belgium, 16:10)

Speakers (15’ each)

Colin Dayan (UK, 15:10): JDRF TOMI and the way forward in beta cell preservation in T1D

David Rawlings (USA, 7:10am): Gene editing to generation engineered regulatory T cells for treatment of autoimmune disorders including T1D

Questions: 15 min

CLOSE OF SESSION 22:40  Total 3 hours 40min 

Day 4 (Oct 18, 2020)

19:00-20:10

(Beijing time)

Session 9 Autoimmunity: Advances in Immunology (70min) 

Key Note Lecture: Chen Dong (China) 25’

CD4+ T cells in autoimmunity

Chairs: Dirk Homann (Germany, 13:00) & Cong-Yi Wang (China)

Discussant: Lucienne Chatenoud (France, 13:00)

Speakers (15’ each)

Tetsuro Kobayashi (Japan, 20:00): Distinct pathological changes of the pancreas in fulminant type 1 diabetes

Abdu Hamad (USA, 7:00am): X cell: Getting to the cores of outimmune disease

Questions: 15min

20:10-20:20

BREAK 10min

20:20-22:20

Special session incorporating workshops 

20:20-21:20

T cell workshop (60’) (Eddie James to organize)

Speakers (15’ each)

Eddie James: Report on the HLA class II multimer assay validation study

Roberto Mallone: T-Cell Epitopes and Neo-epitopes in Type1 Diabetes: A Comprehensive Update and Reappraisal

Kirsten Ward-Hartstonge: Standardizing cytometry assays on T cells in T1D: lessons learned and future prospects

21:20-22:20

Antibody Workshop IASP 60’ (Peter Achenbach to organize)

Achenbach presentation 1

Winter presentation 2

Lampasona presentation 3

Achenbach presentation 4

Lampasona presentation 5

Lampasona presentation 6

Lampasona presentation 7

CLOSE OF SESSION 22:20 Total 3 hours 20min 

Time

0400, West coast USA

0500, Mountain time USA

0600 Central USA

0700 Eastern USA

1200 UK

1300 Central European Time

1900 China

2000 Japan

2100 Melbourne, Sydney, Australia